Dorinda Clark Cole Suicide Attempt!!!!!

Wow! When I came across this story I said yeah right, but after watching the video and seeing Dorinda admit that she did in fact try to end her life, I thought Lawd Jesus!

After seeing such and accomplished woman of God (who by the way has a new cd out called  I Survived) be so transparent about being so broken and fed up with life that she was willing to commit suicide, I started to think about my own life.  Truthfully, things have not gone the way I’ve envisioned.  In fact sometimes I feel like I’m living a nightmare. Everyone says trust God, have faith, it’ll get better.  Honestly its easy to say that when things are going well for you, but when you’re in the fire you don’t WANT words of encouragement, you NEED God to step in a save you!

Watching Dorinda on the video was like an awakening for me. I was like thank you, finally someone is being honest! Folks, when you become a Christian life doesn’t suddenly get easy. People feel like Christians shouldn’t have problems because we have God. We even go so far as to look down on each other when problems do arise because we assume that the person has sinned or done something to bring about the negative circumstances. Its almost like saying you’re bad and you deserve what you’re going through.  

I will admit that I did feel like God was punishing me for something I’d done. I cried out to God asking Him to reveal what I had done so that I could make it right and I heard nothing from Him. I fasted, I prayed, I sowed seeds, I went to deliverance services, I did everything I could to get God to answer me and show me His path for my life. Still nothing. I said God am I so rotten that You refuse to talk to me? I think that was the hardest thing about going through my trial, feeling that God had turned His back on me.

So when Dorinda said she was giving up because she wasn’t hearing from God, I truly understood how she felt. For a Christian, that intimate connection with God is our lifeline. Without it you feel hopeless, its like life is not worth living. But, right when the story was about to have a tragic end God showed up and He called her name, hallelujah! God isn’t only calling Dorinda’s name, but He’s calling my name and your name. He sees you at the end of the rope and He’s saying I have a better plan for you! God didn’t save the 3 Hebrew boys from the firey furnace, He got in there with them!

Sometimes the trouble that we face is not the result of sin or disobedience or somebody doing you something. It is simply God pruning us so that we will produce more fruit (John 15:2).  Its not that He isn’t listening to us or is ignoring us, but He is working on us. The pruning process may seem long, heck I’m still going through it myself, but God’s ultimate plan is to prosper us and give us hope and a future (Jeremiah 29:11).

So despite what I’m going through, I’m going to stand on God’s promises and hold Him to His word. I encourage you to do the same. At the end of it all, we can look back like Dorinda and say I Survived!

One Response to “Dorinda Clark Cole Suicide Attempt!!!!!”

  1. Candace Cummings Says:

    Very inspirational!!!

Comments are closed.

